On Grid- Best Voltage for solar panels minimum 4kw system, no battery packs

I'm a newbie and appreciate any replies to be made like you're talking to a 3rd grader... ok maybe second grader.

I want to DIY a system for my home. Family of 5. 2800 sq ft. High desert climate (hot summers and snowy winters). We are not minimalist by any means, but want to take advantage of the sun's rays and hopefully save money in the long run. We live in city limits and hope to recoup money from any power surplus sent back on the grid ("net metering" I think). Roof mount, no crazy setup on the home. I'll have a certified electrician inspect things before going "hot". I'm a DIYer but not to proud to spend a couple hundred bucks for peace of mind.

That being said, which solar panel voltage should I shop for? 12v, 24v, or 48v seem to be most common. I want to make 2 strings with DC optimizers on each module and a string inverter (would I need two inverters since two strings?) I'm guessing the panels would be 250-300W each. Any advice on brands would be helpful. I'm leaning monocrystalline type.

Whats the rule of thumb for solar panel voltage, if any?

Thanks!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2016 #2
    whoa!
    If you have Grid, go for simple grid tie.   If you don't have shadows on the roof, skip the otptimizers - you don't need them.
    If you are going grid tie, you don't have batteries to deal with, forget 12,24,48V gear.  
    GT panels can run 70V or so, the string inverters take 500VDC and convert that to AC to feed the grid with.
    Don't forget a 60A Transfer switch, and backup generator.  Forget batteries & chargers.