Your Ideal Solar Setup

TrevorDav
TrevorDav Registered Users Posts: 4
Good afternoon all, 

The wife and I are looking at constructing a house in the next year or so, very preliminary stages, so specifics will be hard to come by. 

My question regarding a solar system is, if you were in my position, what would your ideal setup look like? 24v? 48v? LIFEPO4 battery bank?

We would be looking at an off grid installation with our current energy usage running somewhere around the 750-850kwh/month mark. Would it be feasible to replicate that energy usage for around $30k? Am I just scratching the surface with the info that would be needed to answer this question? Please bear with me as I'm fairly new to the world of solar. 2500sqft or so house. 

Thanks!

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Where you live, how many people, and your ability to conserve in winter when solar is harder to harvest are things that need to be addressed. Your budget is good but while you may be able capture 800 KWH 9 months a year it will be much harder in winter. Answer the questions, I do not think you are scratching the surface. It can be done and you are smart to be doing this now.
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• TrevorDav
    Oklahoma: 4.5 hours of sunlight or so according to maps. Just the wife and I for now. I'm thinking of a mini split system with an alternate form of heating for winter months as well. Possibly a well pump mixed in their also, haven't quite got that far. I'm mostly wondering I suppose, what VDC I should be gearing my system towards? Appliances and all. I'm sure there are many schools of thought but a little hand holding would be much appreciated. 

Thanks!
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Trevor,

Sorry, I forgot to post the link to HomePower Mag:

http://www.homepower.com/