Solar simply as backup to possible grid failure - post SHTF

Xizang
Xizang Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭
I'm living with a girlfriend in one of those 'flyover' states that the politicians in Washington mock and make fun of.   I'm coming close to being one of those "preppers" who believes tough times are coming, and I'm wanting to be able to produce power to run the house should the system fail.   And on the practical side, I'm also a marina manager between management gigs, looking for a large marina to manage along the southern coast or in Central America.   Once I have a decent marina to operate, I'm loading up the solar stuff and girlfriend and heading south.   Solar works fine on boats as well as it does as backup in a landlocked northern state.

Okay, question:  Have any of you invested in a solar power plant that is set up as a backup source of power?   And have any of you built a package that's intended to be transplanted from one land location to perhaps a marine application?

Comments

• verdigo
    verdigo Solar Expert Posts: 428 ✭✭
    I have a backup system that powers most all of my 120 volt loads with the exception of heating and cooling, and hot water.  I have 3500 watts of panels and around 400 amp hours of backup batteries.  It is somewhat portable as I built my power shed to be moved, and most of the ground mounts can be moved as well. Might be a bit much for a boat though
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2016 #3
    Buy a Catamaran!  The best platform for solar at sea! A nice sun/solar mount Bimini under the main and set the autopilot.
    The store here can ship most anywhere and I do also. A large system can be shipped by DHL into central america in a shipping container. You can rent one!  

When we were along that coast we always had a ditch marina to leave the boat. It had to have a cinder block bar high up on the hill  to watch Astraea.