Help solarizing my RV?

Options
solarsponge
solarsponge Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi,

I'm new to solar and know very little about electrical. If this is covered elsewhere please kindly send me in the right direction. I have a toyota rv 4banger special. I don't mind chasing the sun but I'm over chasing down propane and carbon monoxide leaks. Also the appliances are old so I am wanting to go solar and get some HE appliances. I was thinking about running a light, lean and mean system that I could add to as my goal is to end up in an off grid cabin at some point. I want to make the right choices so I am looking for good, honest advice and quality, smart pieces. Hopefully this community can save me some time and money. I THINK this is what I want to run:
1.fridge, freezer (Sundazer?) Alot of days this will be the only thing running.
2.ac (mainly for the dog), vent fan, heater(very little)
3.couple led lights
4.crock pot, rice cooker, coffee maker, one burner, toaster
5.direct tv auto dish and small led tv
6.water pump, hot water heater

It seems like there are a myriad of options and choices, from kits to batteries to money pits. It's a little overwhelming. There's gotta be some empirical knowledge out there, right? I don't mind spending a LITTLE more for something that will last longer or be lighter or more efficient. What is the best set-up for me? Best panel, controller, inverter, fuse, battery, etc.? Where should I get it? And any advice on appliances would be wonderful as well.

I do have a gas generator I can use for back-up.

Thank you,
Max

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Max!
    I'm new to solar and know very little about electrical. If this is covered elsewhere please kindly send me in the right direction.

We are going to start with some basic math for solar/electrical power. It will help us figure out what will work (or won't work) for your needs.