Smart Grid, Mini-split heat pumps, and energy control

Options
Dave Angelini
Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
Looking for ideas on this project. Below is a letter to one of my contacts at Schneider. I hope it will be of help to someone!

Hello Roy,

I just wanted to thank-you for the informative webinar on the CSW the other day. We may have met before at one of the Trace/Xantrex shows a ways back. My name is Dave Angelini and I heard you say in the webinar you like challenges. First I would like to give you some background on me. I am an electrical engineer from the Test and measurement industry, Aerospace, and Marine electronics.

My Wife and I have been offgrid for 23 years and I run a small business called Offgrid Solar that is world-wide consulting and some local work up here in the California Sierra mountains near Yosemite national park. I have over 70 happy offgrid homes under my belt. I also have worked with Xantrex Jeff Everett on the mppt-60 controller and beta tested with Jeff Fieldhouse on the mppt-80-600.

Here is what I am looking to do. I want to be able to run a Mini-split heat pump and control it so that when clouds start to build up it can throttle down the energy consumption. On the face it does not sound that hard but first some background. I was one of the first to do this for myself and my clients 7 years ago. The mini-split is the best use of excess energy that I know of for heating and cooling when the battery is charged or charging.