Batteries really can disappoint you BiG TiMe!

CALLD
CALLD Solar Expert Posts: 230 ✭✭
Ok, so I have a set of moderately used FLA batteries that I've been keeping on float charge for the past 8 months "just in case" I may need to use them one day should we have an extended blackout that my 260Ah AGM's can't handle. They are 4x50Ah 12v multi-purpose batteries designed for infrequent deep cycling.

Decided to run a capacity test on them today to see how much usable power they could still deliver.

To my dismay they could barely make 30% of their rated capacity at the C/10 rate, 25% at the C/5 rate and 15% at the C/1 rate.

This was despite a good SG reading of 1.27 average and a good resting voltage of over 12.7v per battery...

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Use them or lose them. This happens all the time since the beginning. They have lost capacity. The first symptom is "my batteries really charge fast"

The other thing is that you may have lost electrolyte being upside down below the equator.....
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• CALLD
    CALLD Solar Expert Posts: 230 ✭✭
    The other thing is that you may have lost electrolyte being upside down below the equator.....

Hahahaha yes I was wondering if there was a downside to being here other than having to endure "winter" this time of year...
    No the only problem with these batteries is inferior quality I believe.

Running a similar test on my AGM's as we speak and so far all is looking good.

Think my best bet with those FLA's are the nearest pawn shop...
  • Apples
    Apples Solar Expert Posts: 39 ✭✭