Wind turbine newbie.. few questions.

Options
Terrang
Terrang Registered Users Posts: 12
Hi i am new to this renewable energy systems but i have a few questions.

I am setting up 2 wind turbines. 1 turbine is a 600W 12v turbine connected to a charge controller.
The company i bought the turbine from game me a really good deal on a 1.3 KW 48v turbine.

So my question is: can i have 2 turbines 12V and 48V go into separate controllers connected to 1 battery bank then into an inverter that is equipped for 12v/24v and 48v?
Or is it better just to order a second tubrine that is 12V?

Thanks
Terran

Comments

• Ethan Brush
    Ethan Brush Solar Expert Posts: 235 ✭✭
    Options
    Terrang wrote: »
    Hi i am new to this renewable energy systems but i have a few questions.

I am setting up 2 wind turbines. 1 turbine is a 600W 12v turbine connected to a charge controller.
    The company i bought the turbine from game me a really good deal on a 1.3 KW 48v turbine.

So my question is: can i have 2 turbines 12V and 48V go into separate controllers connected to 1 battery bank then into an inverter that is equipped for 12v/24v and 48v?
    Or is it better just to order a second tubrine that is 12V?

Thanks
    Terran

Generally off grid turbines dont use charge controllers in the conventional sense. Some manufacturers supply a crude charge controller that diverts the power to a resistive diversion load when the batteries are full. About the only exception is a midnite classic and you likely need a clipper and diversion load. The classic is the only one that I know of that will allow you to connect different voltage turbines to one battery. What type of "charge controller" do you have?
  • waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Options