Solar system setup question

Options
Hey guys, I'm new here. I found the site doing google searches and almost every search or question I had always led me back here. Some very knowledgeable people here and I look forward to learning a ton from this forum. I thought y'all could maybe help me out on this setup.

I'm looking to do a solar setup, I have zero experience with this and this will be my first time dabbling in this arena. I'm looking to have something to provide air conditioning to a room. A small room, 150 or so sq. feet. I have read on here a lot that window a/c units have huge demands to start them up and they aren't the best for energy effeciency.

So my first question is, what would be the best unit/system to use to cool a small room that would be reasonable to power with solar? Is a mini split the best to use for this or is there something better to use? I'm in Texas and would be looking at running it 5 or so hours in the day and a couple of hours at night. It would be handy to be able to run the refrigerator/freezer and lights in the house but a/c is the big priority. 112 degree days can be kinda rough with no power, especially on the little ones.

I do greatly appreciate the help on this. I look forward to the replies and I just hope I can understand what most of y'all are saying! lol

Comments

• CALLD
    CALLD Solar Expert Posts: 230 ✭✭
    Options
    Hi,