How to size your batteries? system?

Options
Ok forgive me because I know this question shows just how much I dont know.

I'm just starting to learn about solar and last summer I changed my pool over to solar heat and salt water.

Now I want to start playing with solar electricity.

My first project would be to make my 1.5 HP pool pump run off solar. The pump runs 8 hours a day in the summer and as low as 6 hours a day during the winter. Sometimes like if it flashes over green I may have to run the pump a full 24 hours but I figure if that happens I could pull from the grid. (It happens about once a year during the summer where I need to run it 24 hours.)

Now my problem is how do I size the batteries and then how do I size the panels to make sure they keep the batteries charged. I know there are simple math formulas for this but I can find them... I searched this forum and see examples but not the formulas.

Also do you think this project is to big to start learning with??

Thanks for you responses.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: How to size your batteries? system?

That's a pretty large pump, and while you may get it running off solar, you are looking at a fairly large array.

What does "flashes over green I may have to run the pump a full 24 hours" mean ?

I'd start very simple, 1 panel, 1 battery, and a nighttime flood light for the pool.

Next I'd suggest for the most bang for your buck, is just a gird-tie system, no batteries to have to mess with, just spinning the electric meter backwards in the daytime. Use the "grid" as your battery !
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||