12 volt house wiring

Hi everyone I'm an brand new newbie here. I plan on building a house soon. I understand that for 12v to 120v you use a inverter with a sub panel. my problem is for my 12v wiring.as i understand I can use the square D Q? circuit breakers in my 12v breakerbox. my question is what wiring do I use to run from the box to the outlets and 12v fluorescent lights. as i plan on running an outlet and light near every where i put the normal 120v outlets and lights. 1st should the wiring be 2 wire or 3 wire so i have a ground? 2. how big should it be 10 awg, 8 awg or even larger? keep in mind it will be permanent and i don't know what i may use the outlets for in the future. probably i will use 12v coffee pot 12v oven in the kitchen and may use some type 12v heating device in other rooms etc.. who knows what future inventions may bring. 3 what type wire would be best thnn etc? thanks for the info!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: 12 volt house wiring

I don't know what Code Requirements are (you must follow Code if you want Fire Insurance) but circuit breakers must have a DC voltage rating, not just an AC breaker. Also, for small 12V lights and radios, you are pretty safe, but heating type appliances, that draw a lot of wattage (800W coffee pot), at 12V, will draw 66Amps. That will need a lot of copper wire. For these type of things, you may be better off with a 1,000W inverter, running off a 24 or even a 48 V battery, and use the ordinary house circuit.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||