remote work trailer application

newmexico
newmexico Registered Users Posts: 7
Hello, I’m very new to this.  I am working on powering a trailer used in the summer months for remote field work and just have a few questions.  Here is the equipment on hand for the trailer.

Two 12v Kyocera solar panels, one 120w and one 130w that I will wire in parallel.  These will put out about 15 amps as far as I can tell. 

A BZ240 PWM controller 14 amp, 12 volt .   http://kingsolar.com/catalog/mfg/bzproducts/bz240.html

Two Trojan L16H deep cycle batteries that I will wire in series to make a 12v output.  240 amp hours at the 20 hour rate/345 amp hours at the 5 hour rate. 

An AIMS 1250 watt DC to AC inverter PWRINV1250w.  Modified sine wave I imagine.

Will be using 12volt system of the trailer for the water pump, lighting, and the inverter for misc. 120v usage (small vacuum, radio battery chargers, water pump for truck to trailer transfer, laptop computer, etc.)

For making moving the panels on/off trailer easier I am going to mount them separately and use a sunlight resistant extension cord cut in the middle and attached to each panel.  Then you simply plug the cord into itself when panels are on roof of the trailer.
1). Is there any problem with doing it this way?

2). Will a 14 gauge wire be sufficient for approx. 12 feet of the wire panel to panel?  12 AWG wire 15 feet from panel to batteries?  ---Using huge cable for the battery to battery connections…

3). The panels and the inverter have connections for grounding them….   Should the panels be grounded to the earth, trailer, neither, or both… same for the inverter?

4). Will the el cheapo inverter ($115) cause any problems with laptop computers?  I’d hate to see an expensive computer with valuable data tank.