recommend a pole top mount for 3x235 watt panels

I'm looking for a decent pole mount for my 3, 235 watt panels. I don't require anything fancy, just something I can adjust the angle to a few times a year, and is fairly affordable. Each panel measures 65"x39", the plan is to sink a pipe out near the north edge of my property and put this mount on it. Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments

• mtdoc
    mtdoc Solar Expert Posts: 600 ✭✭
    Re: recommend a pole top mount for 3x235 watt panels

I have no personal experience with this one but I've been looking at THIS top of pole mount on ebay and considering it as an inexpensive solution for my next system expansion.

I have one array on a Wattsun pole mount tracker which I am very happy with but they are expensive. Other comercial fixed pole mount systems are also pretty expensive.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

Those U bolt clamps will not hold well in high wind. Even the ones for TV receiving antennas have toothed "grippers" to bite the pipe.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• mtdoc
    mtdoc Solar Expert Posts: 600 ✭✭

Very good point Mike! He does sell just the bracket for the top of the pole, so I suppose one could substitute a square profile piece of metal stock- but then adjustment of angle would be more difficult...
  • Glamsland
    Glamsland Registered Users Posts: 8

Attachment not found.