Now to put it together...

Hello. I plan on installing my own 7KW PV roof mounted system in the next few days and I could use some professional advice.

I have been a building contractor for 30 years and am experienced in AC electric, but know little about DC or solar installations.

I purchased the following components on the advice of a salesman:

24- JA P6 72-285/3BB PV panels (Multi Crystalline)
1- Xantrex XW6048 Grid-Tie inverter (6000 watts) (open circuit voltage 45)
2- Outback Flexmax 80 charge controllers 80 amps MPPT
16- 12V 170AH solar batteries
1- Xantex XW Distribution Panel
1- Midnite MNVP12 Combiner box
12- 20A 150 VDC single pole din breakers
4- 80A 125VDC single pole breakers
2- Delta LA302DC lightning arrestors
1- Delta LA302R 300VAC lightning arrestors
1- Xantrex Auto Generator Start
1- XW remote system control panel

Here are some of my questions:

How should I wire my panels with the MC4 wires to go into the combiner box? 24 panels and 12 breakers 20A?
Do I have to cut off the end of the MC4 to connect it to the breakers?
Why do I have 12- 50’ MC4 cables? Don’t the panel cables hook into each other?

What size wire should I use to go from the combiner box to the distribution panel (25’)?

How should I connect my batteries to go into the distribution panel? I have only 2- 10’ 4/0 inverter cables and 16- 1’ 2/0 battery cables 4- 80A 125VDC breakers

Will the Outback charge controllers be compatible and communicate with the Xantrex control panel? Why do I have 2 controllers?

Where do I install the 3 lightning arrestors?

Looks like I have to connect the big DC disconnect in the distribution panel to the 80A breakers?? What size wire? Why do I have 4?

Thanks

Pierre ><>

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Now to put it together...

Pierre,

That is a big project to start with!

What size Battery Bank do you have?