Solar pump recommendation

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello, I'm new here. We just had a well drilled. 245' deep with a 2gpm flow. The water level is at 20'. The well is at a remote site 1200' from the house and at an elevation about 100' higher. No power of any kind. So, I've determined solar water pumping is the best choice. The problem is there are so many brands and models to chose from. What brand/model solar pump do you use? What do you think is best for my situation? With the water level at 20', I have about 300gal of reserve in the well. To get the most water out of the well, I'm thinking of a pump that's slightly greater than 2gpm and spread the 300gal reserve evenly throughout the pumping hours when the sun is up. I'm looking for the most efficient and reliable setup. Thanks in advance for you help.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Solar pump recommendation

I am not a well expert... But don't you need to pump the well at 2gpm and find out what the water level drops down to? You may find that you have a 200' head when pumping the well at capacity.

My other question is the well 100' higher or lower than the home?

Also sending the water 1,200' to your home is going to either take a bit of energy and/or large diameter piping (plus, possibly the 100' elevation change).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

The well produces 2gpm. If I pump at a rate of 2gpm or less, the water level should be unchanged and stayed 20' right? The well is located about 100' higher than the home. A 3000gal storage tank will be installed near the well. It will be a gravity feed system. No enery required. Just the energy to power the pump. That why I'm so interested in a solar pump. No battery of any power storage. Just pump when the sun is up. The 3000gal storage tank should give me at least a week of reserve.