Check my components

Drizzt321
Drizzt321 Registered Users Posts: 4
So, I'm pretty new at solar and for me electricity is mostly french for "don't mess with it". All that said, I'm planning on doing an e-bike at Burning Man, and since it's off grid and I don't fancy a generator, I thought I'd go solar to charge up the SLA pack (I've got a bike trailer to haul them around on, so weight is less of an issue). The pack runs at 36v, but in my searches any 36v solar charge controller is $$$. At least that I've found. So, I figure since I'm just buying 3 12v batteries, I'll just charge all of the batteries individually at the same time off of the same panel(s).

So here's the parts I'm thinking of using:

2x30W panels (nominal output 36v) (http://www.amazon.com/Goliath®-Solar-Module-Battery-Charging/dp/B00DVZS6GG)
3x12/24V 10A charging circuits (http://www.amazon.com/Charge-Controller-Battery-Regulator-Protection/dp/B00AE3UEUE)

Hook the 2 panels up in parallel to the 3 charge circuits, with each circuit hooked up to 1 of the batteries. Thing is, I'm not sure if I'm reading the charge controller correctly or not. If I give it the higher voltage (panels meant for 24v charging), will it automatically try and charge as if they were 24v batteries? Or will they still charge 12v batteries and just have more power available (total Watt input not exceeding the 12v charging max Watt input)? Or should I just go with higher watt rated 12v charge panels?

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Check my components

Without knowing more about the charger than is shown on the Amazon page, I cannot say for sure but it is generally a bad idea to connect more than one MPPT or PWM controller to a single PV array output.