Need Advice/Recommendations on Panels etc.

Hi all!

I can't tell you how happy I am to find a good alternative energy forum that gets enough traffic for the discussions to be worthwhile. This is great!

Ok, I just moved into a house here in the Bay Area on the Peninsula. I have a large roof with relatively good southern exposure. A friend of mine came over with a Solmetric device, and told me that I have 15-20% shading. I'm fully aware that I don't have the BEST location for PV and that it might take a few extra years to pay for itself, but it's something I'm interested in, and I don't think the motive for doing PV should always be financial. Regardless, I'm doing it.

I'm an electrical contractor, so I'm going to install the system myself. I'm shooting for somewhere around a 3kW system.

I'm still reading through the rebate materials, so I know I have some work to do prior to actually buying the equipment, but I'm planning on using the standard Unirac mounts, and either a SunnyBoy or Xantrex inverter. Being able to monitor my system via the internet is very important to me, by the way.

How should I select which panels to buy? For some reason I'm leaning towards the Sharp 208w panels, but I'm pretty much open to any quality manufacturer. Can anyone recommend a good dealer here in the Bay Area, so that I can avoid paying for shipping?

What about inverters? I know that everyone has their own opinions, but can anyone discuss why you chose one manufacturer over the other, and which you chose?

Also, does anyone have a link to a good explanation of the math? Like, a 208w panel will actually produce X based Y number of hours of sun in my area, according to so and so chart.

Sorry so long and so needy, but I really appreciate the help!

(by the way, if anyone here in the Bay Area would like free installation help, let me know, I'm dying to learn!)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin