12V vs. 24V

Options
BenB
BenB Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello,

I am designing a system now that will use a 24V display and a 12V alarm. I have figured out that I will use two AGM 100AH batteries and I will need about 400-500 watts from my solar panels. I will have the two batteries wired in series to get the 24V and I am wondering if it makes more sense to get 24V panels and use a single charge controller for the two batteries or to get 12V panels and have a separate charge controller for each battery. I think I would rather go with 24V panels, but I am having a hard time figuring out which panels will work. I keep seeing rated voltages of 30.7-34.0 for the panels, but I thought I was looking at 12V panels. I'm new at this so any advise would be great.

Thank you,
BenB

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: 12V vs. 24V

Welcome to the forum Ben.

To tell the truth your initial description doesn't make a lot of sense. A 24 Volt display of what and a 12 Volt alarm of which? What exactly are you trying to do? As a rule, mixed Voltages don't play well together.

If you need 24 Volts for something and 12 Volts for another thing and put together a 24 Volt battery bank then tap half of it for 12 Volts (I think this is what you are going for) you can be asking for trouble. There will be a difference in the amount of power drained from the two halves of the battery bank. How much trouble will depend on the amount of current drawn off one half for the 12 Volt equipment. More current = more trouble.

The best way around it is to use a DC to DC converter to supply the 12 Volts from the whole 24 Volt battery bank. Something like this: http://www.solar-electric.com/12to24or24to.html