Newb - Harbor Freight Kit + Eagle II Wind Generator - Few Questions

Samurai
Samurai Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello,

I am new to all this, trying to learn, so I bought the HF solar kit (3 panels, 1 controller, 35 amp/hr battery). It's all set up, connected to an inverter and it all seems to work well!

Now, I bought an Eagle II wind generator on eBay. It's small and cheap, I just want to learn with it. I plan on buying another 35 amp/hr battery to wire in parallel (the exact same one from HF). The turbine also came with a blocking diode.

I understand I need a charge controller for the wind generator that can dump power to not damage the batteries. I have looked for cheap charge controllers and most of them are hybrid (wind and solar) have THREE inputs for wind while my little turbine only has TWO wires.
a
This is where I need help. Why do I have two wires and those controllers have three inputs? I am also not wiring a ground from the battery, is that ok? Everything seems to not complain (inverter etc)

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newb - Harbor Freight Kit + Eagle II Wind Generator - Few Questions

Welcome to the forum.

Without actually seeing the schematics I would guess that you are looking at a difference of turbines outputting 3 phase AC (three wires) vs. a turbine that puts out DC (two wires). Although I don't know why they would include a blocking diode if the turbine puts out DC to begin with.

In terms of regulating output from the turbine, the standard form is a dump controller connected to the battery which keeps the Voltage from going to high by connecting the load as Voltage climbs, thus 'bleeding off' power.

Don't expect much. Small wind turbines are notoriously over-rated and impractical. Installing any turbine so that it actually performs requires some pretty tall tower to get it out of the turbulent air near the ground.