wiring a new mobile system and questions of compatibility

Options
nimblemonkey
nimblemonkey Registered Users Posts: 8
Hi All- I am new to solar and putting together a small system to take on the road to power an Engel fridge/freezer (MT45- 2.5 amp max draw). I have been researching components and so far this is what I've determined will work for me: 2-6V 200 aH Trojan Golf Cart AGM Batteries in series- connected to a Blue Sky solar boost MPPT 3000i (30 Amp) charge controller- and a Grape Solar 100 W flexible panel (photoflex) to recharge the batteries. I may want to add another 100W panel in the future and once I'm done traveling, I want to power the fridge/freezer at home with these same components (out of the truck, of course). The panel comes with an MC4 connector- Most people say to use #10 wire to hook everything up. The panel is light and flexible because I want the option of moving it around my campsites to take full advantage of available sun as I'm traveling, so it will not be permanently mounted anywhere and will be not in use while I'm driving. Sometimes it will be flat on top of the truck camper shell, sometimes it will be on the ground attached to a pvc frame angled toward the sun. My wiring length could be as far as 20 feet from the truck where the batteries will be mounted for the duration of the trip. (BTW, I have built a platform in the back of the truck over the battery bank (the 2-6v golf cart batteries) for storage of my gear and I may be sleeping on that platform from time to time (that's why they're AGMs) depending on weather and trip plans.) My question is, should I be concerned with line loss for a 20 foot run using #10 wire? Can I use #8 wire with MC4 connectors to help minimize line loss? I have also seen some put Anderson connectors on their cables to make a good connection between components and make it easier to hook things up once I get to my campsite and want to easily connect the panel to charge the batteries. I was also told I shoul