Few Newbie Questions RE: Inverters and Well Pumps

IPSparky
IPSparky Registered Users Posts: 7
Hi, everyone. I just registered, and I've been looking through the beginner section for a bit and haven't found this info, so I apologize in advance if this has been asked dozens of times already.

I'm looking at going solar for everything aside from Central Air Conditioning. This isn't a big deal, since we do our laundry by hand, don't have a vacuum cleaner and wash our dishes by hand. All of our lights are high efficiency, etc. We use very little power, so going solar seems like common sense.

Only one problem....I have a well pump that runs on 240v.

What will it take to convert 12v or 24v to 2 phase 240v? I've been researching this for some time, and can't find a consistend and understandable explanation.

A little background, I'm an Electrician and Instrumentation Tech so you don't have to dumb things down too much.

Thanks for the help, and sorry again if I should have found this on my own.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Few Newbie Questions RE: Inverters and Well Pumps

Pretty simple..

DC Batter bank => AC Inverter => 120 VAC or 120/240 VAC split phase => step-up transformer => 240 VAC well pump

Of course, you need a large enough step up transformer, or an AC inverter that outputs 120/240 VAC. The inverter has to be large enough to supply pump surge current (~5x running current). And you need a battery bank large enough to supply starting/running energy to the AC inverter (12/24/48 VDC are common battery bank sizes, and usually for larger power draws, a 24 or 48 volt battery bank is a better choice (to keep DC current/copper costs down).