solar controller

Options
Hello,

I am looking to purchase a used solar controller. I am a high school student doing a science project, building a solar cart/bike. My theme is to build it from used materials. So, I am looking for a used 36 or 48 volt controller to be used with the solar panels I have already obtained. I am currently building the bike and it should be completed this month. Once complete I plan to enter it in solar races and exhibit it at science fair competitions around the county. My results will also be posted on my website www.solarcarscience.com along with links to people who have gotten involved in my project. I currently attend Camden Central High school and will be entering the 11th grade this fall.

Thanks in advance for any advice or assistance you will be willing to provide,

Jesse Clifft
2495 Old Hwy 70 East
Camden Tn, 38320

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: solar controller

Jesse,

36 V and 48 V controllers are available, but they're not as plentiful as are 12 V and 24 V models. Also, some additional information about your project's soar energy system architecture would help us help you:

(1) Are you looking to connect a PV array to a battery bank at the same nominal voltage (i.e., a "36 V" PV array to a "36 V" battery bank, or a "48 V" PV array to a "48 V" battery bank)?
    (2) Or, are you looking to connect a higher voltage PV array to a lower voltage battery bank (i.e., a "48 V" PV array to a "36 V" battery bank)?
    (3) What is the expected output current from the controller to the battery bank?

Sounds like a fun project!

Regards,
    Jim / crewzer
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options

Yes, I am going to use a battery bank.
    I am using solar panels from VW. They are the little trickle chargers VW uses to maintain battery charge during shipment of the cars.