Inverter issue with video

cleanspeed
cleanspeed Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Hello all,

I’m a newb to the forum and to solar. About two years ago we purchased a place with a standalone solar installation, not connected to any grid. I don’t know any of the history, but it has been trouble free to date.

Now to the problem that brings me here looking for help – we had been gone for about two weeks and came back to no power. When I went to check on it I found the inverter making what sounded like relay cycling noises, all the lights randomly blinking and the cooling fan turning on and off. I’ve attached a link to a video below. The inverter is a Xantrex SW Plus 2548, manufactured 2005.

I opened up the inverter and don’t see any obvious problems (to the untrained eye). We have had lightning lately, but I don’t see any visible damage outside the shed or to any of the components.

Has anyone seen anything like this or have any idea where to start?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Jim

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUmzCi-rzAM

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Inverter issue with video

Welcome to the forum Jim.

I don't do videos due to bandwidth restrictions here, but ...

Turn everything off. Disconnect the charge controller from the PV array and the batteries. Disconnect the inverter from the batteries. Check the batteries for Voltage and Specific Gravity (if they are flooded cells) to be sure there's enough power to run the inverter. You need to have good battery power or else everything else becomes meaningless.

Next reconnect the charge controller and see how it functions. If it isn't doing the job of charging the batteries there may be a problem there.

Finally, with known good DC for input and all AC loads off try and turn the inverter on again and see what happens.

I'm not saying this will fix anything, it's just the standard procedure for eliminating the obvious problems.