Request opinion on a new Solar system parallel with electric grid

emanuf
emanuf Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello
I’m writing from Portugal (100 Km north from Lisbon) and i’m planning to install solar panels, battery supported, in order to cut my energy account and preserve some independency from the electric grid. Big problem for now is that i'm really new to this things and i've been collecting info from suppliers... and what comes from the Internet, but in this case usually is very technical... and over here it seems that you explain stuff in a very clear way...

My consumptions are about 5.500 kW / year, half during the day (mostly on weekends or when air conditioning is needed) and half during the night (dish and laundry washers); also have the water heating (460 W)…
I have 2 proposals.
1. First Proposal:
a. 12 panels PANASONIC HIT N240 (in series of 2, 6 strings)
b. 1 Inverter SMA SB 4000TL
c. 1 Sunny Island SI 6.0H
d. 8 batteries EXIDE GEL 12V 230A/h (4 in series x 2 in parallel)
e. 1 Regulator Outback FlexMax 80
2. Second proposal:
a. 8 panels PANASONIC HIT N240 (in series of 2, 4 strings)
b. 1 Inverter SMA SB 4000TL
c. 1 Sunny Island SI 6.0H
d. 4 batteries EXIDE GEL 12V 230A/h (2 in series x 2 in parallel)
e. 1 Regulator Outback FlexMax 80
f. 1 wind generator 1000W and the regulator SMA Windy Boy 1200

Solar panels will be divided in 2 different orientations: S-SE and S-SW. Where I live we have lots of sun and it can be windy sometimes (many times…). Temperatures can go up as +40 C and lower as -3 C (usually for a few days and in the morning, when the sun comes it goes to positive values)…
I don’t pretend to substitute totally the electric grid supply, but I do want to be certain that I can live without it if need it.

What I’d like to ask your opinion is about:
1. With the Sunny Island do I need the Outback FlexMax?
2. Having both proposals almost the same value, which one is preferable?