Have nice set of Telecom Batteries--Now what?

Hi y'all! I'm a newbie to the whole solar thing, but, I am a Telecom equipment installer and have recently acquired 20 x 12v (which were wired into 5 strings of 4 batteries) Northstar 170ah batteries and an Eltek/Valere Compact DC Power System (Rectifier). All of the batteries were in working condition when I decommed them and installed new ones in their place, the Eltek/Valere is NIB. What do I have here when it comes to powering my home and what else would I need to do that. Also, I have continual access to used, but in very good condition telecom batteries, so I can have virtually as many strings as needed to run my entire house. Are these good batteries for this type of application? I know I need more stuff I just need to know what kind of stuff and how much.

Comments

• H2SO4_guy
    H2SO4_guy Solar Expert Posts: 213 ✭✭✭
    Re: Have nice set of Telecom Batteries--Now what?

Welcome to the forum!!! You have come to a great place to get knowledge and ideas to explore new options. First off, what part of the country are you in?

How do you intend to use the batteries? Off-grid? Backup power in case of electrical failure? Do you have grid power? I see you have a rectifier, is it set up for -48 VDC like most Telco's? How do you intend to charge these? Are you getting any RE energy inputs like Solar, wind, or hydro?

Let us know and we can help much better.

Skip
    12K asst panels charging through Midnite Classic 150's, powering Exeltechs and Outback VFX-3648 inverter at 12 and 48 volts.  2080 AH @ 48 VDC of Panasonic Stationary batteries (2 strings of 1040 AH each) purchased for slightly over scrap, installed August 2013.  Outback PSX-240X for 220 volt duties.  No genny usage since 2014. 
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Welcome to the forum Apollos2.

I have moved your question to its own thread--It should be a lot easier for you to direct the Q&A towards your needs/goals.