Comments on Boat Setup

SVNeko
SVNeko Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi all, I am a newbie here setting up a solar system on our boat. I found this forum and it is fantastic; full of great advice by experienced people. The equivalent forum for boaters is Cruisersforum.com. There are many subforums there, and the ones on electrical systems are full of posts about PV charging systems. Cruising boats are essentially small off-grid cottages that live off a large battery bank and multiple ways to restore power to them. There are some fairly knowledgeable folks there as well.

In our case, we have 2 engines with high output alternators through regulators (a catamaran, it has engines in the end of each hull), a 3.5kw generator through an 80a charger, (currently) a single 180W panel through an old PWM controller and, when we are in a marina, shore power through a 100a (when on 110/60) or 80a (when on 220/50) chargers. We have an 800ah gel cell battery bank. All this is monitored through a Mastervolt battery monitor. Running these diesel engines is not ideal and the 180w panel does not do much to restore the 200 - 250ah daily draw we put on the batteries. So I am installing a better PV system and would not mind comments from the experts here.

This will be 3 Sanyo HIT 240S panels installed on davits on the aft end of the boat. They have a Vpm of 43.7, Ipm of 5.51, Voc of 52.4. This is about 30' from the battery bank. So they will be wired in series to utilize less and smaller wiring, and a single controller. Space for installations is at a bit of a premium. I plan to install a Midnite Classic 200 near the batteries to control the output. So, with that said:

1. Comments or advice generally on the setup?

2. I am clueless about integration with the existing charging and monitoring systems. The existing monitor will tell me SOC of the batteries, current in and out, ah used, etc. But is there anything I should be thinking about in terms of integration?