Ways to deaden high frequesncy pitch of 100 kW solar inverter

Maria Sanders
Maria Sanders Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello,

I'm a solar beginner that has been charged with installing several large solar systems in an urban infill environment. We just completed installing a 124 kW solar carport system in a narrow parking lot. Now that the project is up and running, the solar inverter (an AE 100kW) makes a high pitched whistling noise that has caused some complaints from several neighbors in the neighboring apartment complex. The inverter is about 80 feet across the parking lot from the nearest neighbor. The neighbor that is complaining is on the 3rd floor, so it seems the noise is carrying upwards. There is plenty of other ambient mechanical noise in the area, so I suspect it is the high frequency part of the noise that is causing the problem, not the constant mechanical hum.

Short of completely ripping out the current inverter or redesigning the system, is there any way we can dampen the noise, especially the high frequency? Is there a noise cancelling technology or fencing option that has worked well for others.

I have a hard time believing that this issue has not come up for other large urban solar projects.

Thank your, Maria

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Ways to deaden high frequesncy pitch of 100 kW solar inverter

if it is going across 80ft and up roughly 30-40ft then it really isn't going straight up. maybe the answer is to put a box arrangement around it and extending above it to actually make it go more straight up. it is easier to direct higher frequencies than lower ones and i don't think you can change the pitch. try using cardboard first before anything fancy as it is cheap and may indicate if it will work. if my suggestion fails then contact the inverter manufacturer for possible answers.
  • PNjunction
    PNjunction Solar Expert Posts: 762 ✭✭✭