need basic help getting started

Options
jeffp
jeffp Registered Users Posts: 4
I am new to solar power and posting to forums so I hope I am doing this right .I recently purchased 2-100 watt Renogy panels and I learned tonight that the connections are MC4 I have a cable with the connectors and the cable seems small the wire size calculator showed I need a #4 wire from the panels to the charge controler @ 12v 40' so does the #4 run from the combiner and how do I connect a wire that big to the charge controler? next question can I get MC4 connectors to put on the cable I have(#10solid copper)? I will have more questions later i am just trying to get the panel connections settled first.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: need basic help getting started

welcome jeff,
    the mc4 connections you have to have only to satisfy the pv connections as cutting them can void the pv's warranty. what is normally done is to get a small cable with the mc4 connections on it like this one,
    http://www.solar-electric.com/6fomc4so2exc.html
    cutting it in half and putting the bare wire ends to the connections in the combiner while the mc4 part connects to the pvs. the wires can have wire spliced onto them if too short. if you have a combiner with mc4 connections then you need the full mc4 wires without cutting them. after the combiner the same splicing method can be employed to hook up other wires to it. (there are many ways to splice wires and may be too lengthy to get into right now) btw if the 2 pvs are being paralleled then possibly this type of an adapter may be used eliminating the need for a combiner box. http://www.solar-electric.com/mumc4colam.html