Question about grid tie feedback

Options
Hello, I'm very new to solar so bear with me here. This may be a silly question. My situation is my local coop has nobody currently feeding back the grid with solar and I believe is a little reluctant in working with me in doing so. So in order to get my system up before the end of the year to get the federal tax credit I just want to avoid dealing with them until later. I would like to install my panels and feed my house whatever they make in the day and pull from the grid at night. If it should make more power than I need in the day I do not want to send any power back on the grid and have to deal with the electric company. Is there such a device to put between my circuit panel and my outside electric meter to prevent power from feeding back to the line if I should make more than I need, but allow me to pull as much power as I need when I need it, mainly at night? Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Question about grid tie feedback

Welcome to the forum.

Short answer: no.

A standard GT system takes whatever power the panels can produce and sends it into the house wiring. There it is either consumed by the household loads or, if those don't use all of it, feeds back to the grid. There's no simple way of stopping that. This is an issue that has come up before here and got into quite a long and complex discussion, with now easy resolution.

The simple resolution is a hybrid system that uses a battery-based GTI and can have sell "shut off" so that it never feeds the household or grid. Then some loads are placed on it, and if they exceed its capacity extra power can be drawn from the utility. Expensive and somewhat inefficient.

So we'll go with the standard question of "why do you want to do this?" and see what happens! :D
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

welcome to the forum.