Propane questions

paulskirocks
paulskirocks Solar Expert Posts: 84 ✭✭✭✭
Our cabin has two propane tanks, about 4' tall, each has a regulator and rubber hose leaving the regulator to a two-tank valve, which then goes to 1/2 inch galvanized gas pipe... The tanks are well over 20 years old, and the regulators close to 20 years old... I want to replace everything to the 1/2 gas pipe...

So, the old valve connections to the regulators are old school style, and leaking... So, I was thinking that I would like just one regulator, and take the output of the two-way valve straight into the regulator... These days, I notice that portable propane tanks have the new, quick connect valve... Is this how they all are? The one house I return to is near a propane dealer, so getting the tanks filled isn't an issue...

So, school me on this... Suggestions are welcome...

Comments

• SCharles
    SCharles Solar Expert Posts: 123 ✭✭
    Re: Propane questions

I am not a gas professional, just a home user of propane. Two things from your post: I have always been told, by gas delivery drivers and at a couple of wholesale gas supply stores [selling regulators and valves and etc.] that galvanized steel pipe is a no-no for propane. That black pipe is the way to go. I do not know for sure, just what I've been told over the years, but while you are re-plumbing your system, might wanna check that out.