Comparison between 3 different L16 type batteries.

bebey
bebey Solar Expert Posts: 27 ✭✭
I still consider myself a novice in the solar arena so I appreciate any input and advice.

I'm looking at 3 different L16 type batteries: Trojan, Deka, and Rayovac.

I've been using Trojan T-105s for a couple years now, but am about ready to significantly upgrade my system. I've currently got 12 Schott 202 on a 24v system, but plan on upgrading and adding 9 more Schott 225s and a 48v system.

Specifically, I'm comparing price/amp hours of the three batteries:

The Trojans are rated 370ah, and cost around 355.
The Deka also 370 and cost around 333.
The Rayovac is only rated at 330ah but costs 259 (230 if I buy them in quantity of 24)

The Rayovac are significantly cheaper even considering the amp hours. With the other 2, I would have 16 batteries total 5920ah, (price 5320-5680) . But I am considering 24 of the Rayovac for a total of 7920ah (price 5520).

It seems like a no brainer, but I have not heard of any experiences with the Rayovac, and I am always skeptical of something too good to be true. But having my batteries drop down so much less every day seems like a great way to extend life.

Thoughts?

Current: 12 Schott 202, Outback 80, Trojan T-105s, Xantrex TR2424 (modified wave) Tri-metric, miscellaneous breaker boxes and surge protection. About to add 9 more Schott 225s, dump the Xantrex, and replace with a Magnum 4400W 48V 120/240v Inverter (full sign) and replace the T 105s with 16-24 L16s.

Comments

• Mangas
    Mangas Solar Expert Posts: 547 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Comparison between 3 different L16 type batteries.

My opinion, Trojan L-16 REB 6 Volt (48 Volt System).