Will this panel/battery setup work for DC fence charger?

MO-NH
MO-NH Registered Users Posts: 9
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to solar power and have a question about an electric fence charger that I want to run off a solar panel and battery.

Here are the details:

Solar panel: Coleman 18 watt amorphous solar panel with 7amp charge controller.
Battery: small 12 volt 8 amp hour battery. http://www.cabelas.com/product/700551.uts?WT.tsrc=CRR&WT.mc_id=crrdtfd
Fence charger: Zareba B10M http://www.zarebasystems.com/store/electric-fence-chargers/b10m

This would be used to charge a quarter acre hog enclosure from early May to late September. We're located in northern NH.

So, what do you think? Seems to me the solar powered fence chargers that I've seen are pretty small so the battery inside can't be very big, and the solar panels seem pretty tiny on them... so I'm thinking these components I already have might work. Will this work? :)

I do have a spare regular sized 12 volt, 90 amp hour trolling motor battery that I could also use if a bigger battery is a must.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Will this panel/battery setup work for DC fence charger?

welcome,
    seems ok to me, but i'm not all that familiar with electric fences. during long cloudy periods you may want to check on it to be sure it is still charging the battery high enough. if you find it to be low then you could sub a ups battery there and charge the fence battery with a small charger. if it's an agm then be careful of the voltage going too high. (usually around 14.4v or so)
  • vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    MO-NH wrote: »
    Solar panel: Coleman 18 watt amorphous solar panel with 7amp charge controller.
    <snip>
    I do have a spare regular sized 12 volt, 90 amp hour trolling motor battery that I could also use if a bigger battery is a must.