how many panels can I run thru this CC to charge 12 volt battery bank?

vibeline
vibeline Registered Users Posts: 24 ✭✭
Hi Everyone I'm new here and I'm new to solar...
I have been reading for 2 days now....... soooo much to take in...

I have an opportunity to buy some panels for $200 each, from a local guy going out of business but I must act fast so I need your help...

Panel info:
Nominal power [Wp] Pmpp: 235 watts
Voltage at nominal power [V] Umpp: 30.2 volts
Current at nominal power [A] Impp: 7.78 amps
Open-circuit voltage [V] Uoc: 37.1 volts
Short-circuit current [A] Isc: 8.42 amps

My question is how many of these panels can I run thru this
Xantrex XW-MPPT-60-150V Charge Controller (I can buy this from the guy for $500.)
Electrical Specifications
Nominal battery voltage: 12, 24, 36, 48, 60 Vdc
Maximum PV array voltage (operating): 140 Vdc
Maximum PV array open circuit voltage: 150 Vdc
Array short-circuit current: 60 Adc maximum

We have a lot of power outages in my area and I have been wanting to get some solar panels for years now..
I would like to run my garage fridge off the batteries and maybe dump extra power (if any) into water heater (if possible)
I want to keep my 12 volt battery bank for the time being. (I will expand later need more cash)
I have six 6 volt batteries series/parallel hooked up to a 12 volt 3500 watt inverter right now.. (keeps fridge and freezer going during outages)
I also have an APC with two 12V boat batteries hooked to it that backs up my TV/PC/modem and router that rig runs my 55 inch plasma for over 4hrs.

If there is a better CC than that one for around the same money please let me know..
I would like to keep this under $2500 (wife is mad already)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jim

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: how many panels can I run thru this CC to charge 12 volt battery bank?

Welcome to the forum.