Help wanted: Designing my off-grid system

Options
johnT
johnT Registered Users Posts: 15 ✭✭
Hi everyone!

I am looking to set up an off-grid home in Belize. I am new to solar, but have been doing a lot of reading and research into it trying to determine what I am going to need. So what I would like is for the experts (you guys) to let me know if I am on the right track.

I am planning on using no more than 5 Kwhs a day. So, planning on a 24v system here is the basics of what I am looking to get:

5 - 315 watt Kyrocera panels totaling 1575 watts
3 - Rolls/Surrette 8-cs-25ps 820ah batteries

Some of my questions are:

Is this approximately the right amount of solar for my needs?
I am figuring the 820ah battery bank will give me about 2 days of autonomy...would that be right?
Is that enough solar to properly charge a battery bank that size?

My biggest concerns are of course for the batteries as they are the most costly and most likely to have problems if not properly maintained. I keep reading over and over that you should never take batteries below 50% DOD, and that the less you discharge them the longer they last. So, according to that logic you could size your battery bank so that you never take it below 10% DOD if you had the money, but would your solar panels be able to charge them properly? In my case, I arrived at the size of my battery bank by taking 5Kwhs*2 days*2 (for 50%DOD) divided by 24v=833. However, if I wanted to only do 20%DOD then I would need a little over 2000ahs...and my panels surely wouldn't charge that bank. So I guess my problem is where is the balance between having a large enough battery bank to not have to do a very deep DOD and having one too large for my panels? All of this is of course very possibly wrong and I wouldn't doubt it a bit, that's why I'm here :)

Thanks in advance for your time and patience.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Help wanted: Designing my off-grid system