Panels on the cheap

Gregmik
Gregmik Registered Users Posts: 19
I have been buying panels, one a month for a few months, from Amazon. I have 7 so far. They are $150 per panel(50 Watts) with shipping. Anywhere I can get them cheaper? Should I save for a few months rather than buying them every month?

Thanks in advance,
Greg

Comments

• intel415
    intel415 Solar Expert Posts: 31
    Re: Panels on the cheap

have you check cragslist? sometimes people have left over for their projects, so they sell them cheap good luck :)
  • Gregmik

No never thought of that....thanks!

Greg
  • Jim45D
    Jim45D Solar Expert Posts: 102 ✭✭

What are your ultimate goals? Are you shooting for a 12 volt system, or larger? What are the specs of the panels that you've already purchased. I know you said 50 watters, which is roughly 17.8 Amps. Personally I think you'd be better off getting into a larger panel. Thus far, you already have 350 watts, and for less than what you've paid already, minus shipping, you'd have only two panels to lug up to the mount, or roof.
  • Gregmik
    Jim45D wrote: »
    What are your ultimate goals? Are you shooting for a 12 volt system, or larger? What are the specs of the panels that you've already purchased. I know you said 50 watters, which is roughly 17.8 Amps. Personally I think you'd be better off getting into a larger panel. Thus far, you already have 350 watts, and for less than what you've paid already, minus shipping, you'd have only two panels to lug up to the mount, or roof.

I have not posted much lately, I got p*ssed off at the electric company here. I am off grid and am building my system slowly. I only have about $150 a month to spare. I get my bats for free as I have a friend that repairs wheel chairs and Medicare and Medicaid allows them to replace the bats once a yr no questions asked. So I get yr old 74ah GC for free.