Designing Off-Grid System With Possible Solar Later- Need Design Advice

Scargod
Scargod Registered Users Posts: 15
I have this new cabin in the wilds of British Columbia. My contractor had it pre-wired by a semi-retired electrician. I fired my contractor, so I can't find the electrician... He specified some off-grid power component with the understanding that I wanted it to be expandable. The electrician gave me some cut sheets for Xantrex products and Discover batteries. I have taken this info and run with it. I have done everything from building power supplies to wiring three-phase machinery to adding sub-panels. However, I'm NOT an electrician and I've never done a DC system! I'd like advice and critique of the direction I am going in.

The 650SF main cabin is well insulated and has a wood stove for heat. The three bedrooms equal 500 SF and are disconnected from the main cabin. We do not have plans to heat anything with electricity. We are installing a instant-on propane water heater, washer and propane-fired dryer, a dishwasher (where we won't force dry the dishes), a propane refrigerator and a propane cook stove. All appliances are new, high efficiency mdels. I plan on using LED lighting where practical. We are taking water from the lake with an on-demand water pump and using a small pressurized holding tank. Adding a cistern is possible... Elevating a holding tank would not be an easy task. We have a grinder/pump to move waste up to a septic field 70 feet away.

I have purchased a propane powered Cummins-Onan RV generator, QG 5500 (120/240). I have a table saw, a compressor and am a big DIY JOAT. I am going to finish what is left to do on the cabin. There are usually just two to four people at the cabin right now, but we can accommodate ten or more. The cabin may only be used for a few months out of the year.