wiring panels in series or parallel?

Options
Hello,
I am in the process of installing my off-grid solar system for my home and would love to hear some of your opinions from you good folks. I am still relatively new to all this but I have been browsing this forum for sometime.

The question that I have is whether should I wire my panels in series or parallel? But first, let me give you my system specs:

4 X Siliken 230 watt max, vmp 29.5 v, imp 7.7 amp voc 36.9 (24 volts panels?)
Blue sky solar boost 6024h 60amp MPPT controller
6 interstate 95 ah marine/deep-cycle batteries wired in parallel (12 volt system) - cheap but probably not the best idea!
Xantrex 1600 prosine sinewave inverter 12v
about 60 feet of 8 awg wiring

The solar boost 6024H states :
60 amp maximum output current
nominal pv voltage: 36v/ 48 v (3 or 4 series modules).... not sure what that means
pv open circuit voltage: 140v max.

Would wiring my panels in series (with total of 147 volts open circuit voltage )work ok with my controller or perhaps 2 series strings of 2 panels wired in parallel work better?

Would my wiring be sufficient without much significant losses. What fuses would have to be employed in such configuration, their rating and placement.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: wiring panels in series or parallel?

Welcome to the forum.

The Blue Sky's 140 V input limit means the maximum Voc of the array. All four panels in series would exceed this, even before you factor in any increase due to cold temps.

I'd suggest the best thing to do here is to make two strings of two panels in series and then parallel the strings. That way your array specs would be:
    Voc 73.8, Vmp 59, and Imp 15.4

With that and your 6 AWG wire your V-drop should be under 3% even at 60 feet. With this configuration no panel fuses are needed because there are only two parallel connections.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options