I want to do a side by side inverter comparison

heynow999
heynow999 Solar Expert Posts: 80 ✭✭✭✭
I am looking to refine my ideas for doing a side by side comparrison for different inverters

I want to do this because I am an installer and I hear a lot of hype from the different manufacturers and I would like to see for myself which is the best. I have searched the internet for comparisons of inverters and really the only thing I found was Solar Guppys Home Power article from ten years ago! I dont have the money or time to do a module comparison, and because Photon magazine is doing module tests I don't see need to test modules.

The site is a 3500 sq ft flat roof near Toronto, Ontario. There is no shade. The system will be grid-tie, feed-in-tariff. My current idea is to use 42 Siliken 250watt modules. I would group them into 3 groups of 14 modules. One string would use Enphase m215 micro-inverters. A second string would use an SMA 3000HF inverter with Tigo. The third string would use just the SMA 3000HF inverter. I plan on using a Sunny webox and a Sunny Sensorbox.

Some ideas I have are to get the flash tests for each module and map each location.

Panel match the strings for the SMA inverters. Give the highest string to the SMA, the medium string to the SMA+Tigo and the lowest string to the Enphase?

I was thinking I would size the wire so all runs have the same voltage drops, or as close as I can get.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: I want to do a side by side inveter comparison

Since California started requiring UL certification of performance in late 2004, the need for such comparisons has basically vanished.

You can look up the performance specifications here:

http://www.gosolarcalifornia.org/equipment/inverters.php

And the UL witnessed and or performed test results:

http://www.gosolarcalifornia.org/equipment/inverter_tests/summaries/