Increasing battery capacity (or am I?)

My wife and I don't go off the grid really, we have wheelchair accessible 29 foot travel trailer. It was a standard model with the wheelchair option built in 2002 by Play-Mor. It was a great bargain, because accessible RV's are very expensive and we paid $22,000 at that time.
Although we stay at Missouri State campgrounds, we must have a reliable 12 volt source for the wheelchair lift to operate (for quick trips to use the bathroom while traveling).
Here is where we are, the battery box holds a single wet cell Walmart battery, barely enough to operate the lift a few times before recharging.
Once a year my wife's insurance replaces her wheelchair batteries, I was able to keep the last pair taken from her chair, they were charged nightly for the year they were in the power chair. The are Interstate "DCM 0055 AGM 12v 55 Ah 20 rate 1.75 VPC"
(taken from the top label). Definitely the price is right for the pair (free)

Since I'm only learning about this stuff now, my question is: if they are connected together in parallel, will they do the job? Is it still only 55 ampere hours?
It is quite a lot of battery (together) but 55 ah just seems is not as much power as most Rv batteries are advertised.
This is not a deep cycle situation, just a need for reliable power when we need it.
Thanks for any suggestions, I found the battery information pages on this site so good, I felt compelled asking my question here instead of a regular RV forum.
Ray D

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Increasing battery capacity (or am I?)

Welcome.

Well, its handy to be able to keep that set of batteries. You sure save a bundle not buying them. They will need a 3 stage charger configured for AGM batteries, a regular flooded cell charger will over charge them.

Overcharge on AGM is bad, because you vent gas, which used to be electrolyte, but it's gone forever.

Any idea what the lift battery spec is ?