Need Insight for Solar Greenhouse Panel for van and pump applications

Options
tokso
tokso Registered Users Posts: 7
Newbie here. I am interested in pursuing using PV to power some fans (approximately 4 or 5 at 2.6 amps/12V) plus 1 or 2 higher amperage 12V bilge or recirculating water pumps for hydroponics.

I wish to spend the least amount of money but I would rather not do anything then spend the bucks on something that will not work (or is too expensive in payback).

The main detail is that because it is for plants, the fans and pumps only need to operate during daylight hours. The fans will have a 12V on/off temperature controller (on at 70+ degrees, for example) and the pumps only run at intervals during the day to flood the hydroponics.

I was interested in the Kyocera Solar KD135SX-UPU - 12 Volt, 135 Watt Solar Panel With Junction Box, pole-mounted sideways with an Iron Ridge UNI-SP/01A.

Am I too newbie to think that this panel, along with essentially wiring the fans and pump/pump controller in one big 12V circuit will suit my needs?

And if not, would it be possible (or better) to run an inverter off the panel to provide 120V ac and then use that to power 120v AC fans and 120v water recirculation pumps? And if so, what products (PV/inverter) do you recommend? Also keep in mind that this is a wet-condition install (either to the weather or inside a humid greenhouse), so any inverter would either need to be weather-resistant or be inside a weather-resistant box.

Again, this only needs to run during daylight hours (fans when it gets too hot) and the plants themselves will only actively grow/uptake nutrients during day-light.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Need Insight for Solar Greenhouse Panel for van and pump applications

Welcome to the forum.