Power requirements

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Since I am new to this and most of what I have been researching has gone over my head I would like to find out how to deterimine what my power requirments would be.

A bit of a background as to what I am trying to do.

I am attempting to prevent a stock tank from icing over during the winter. I understant now that a heater might be a bit difficult. Thanks you this site I was given some great advice and other sites to look at reguarding stock tank insulating and solar heat.

What I am trying to do now is equip a solar power setup to operate a water pump when we need to fill up the tank... maybe even some sort of float so it fills automatically. Right now we go out and start up the generator and fill it that way.

The other thing I would like to power is a water circulating pump to help keep the water in the tank moving to help prevent freezing.

How do I deterimine what I would need.....what type of panels...how many...what type of battery set up and how many....how about an inverter......

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Eric Knight

www.jamesknightwesternartist.com

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Power requirements

Eric;

This is a case of finding the equipment that will do the job and seeing what its power requirements are. Of course you look for the lowest power pump you can find that will still meet the needs. Sometimes that's not so easy to do.

Pumping water isn't easy because the stuff is heavy. The freeze potential is a real problem. For circulating pumps, you might try a 12 Volt bilge pump; submersible (water around it acts as insulator), and relatively low power. This is one you'd want to run off battery so it would stay pumping day and night. Not sure how well the pump will stand up to that constant running. The battery would then be recharged during the day via solar.