This SOLAR PLAN MUST be Possible>>

124»

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Re: This SOLAR PLAN MUST be Possible>>
    drees wrote: »
    There's nothing special about high SEER AC units being worse than low SEER AC units at removing moisture. If it's not removing enough moisture that's likely a setup problem where you've got too much AC so AC cycle times are not long enough to remove the moisture (your AC unit is too big).
    I have to agree with this one. I just replaced a 4 ton heat pump with a 3 ton. Not only has my electric bill dropped, but the house is much more temperate and comfortable. 15 years ago they used much different heat load calculations and I'v made improvements in windows and insulation, that said the company wanted to put a 4 ton unit back in and be safe and for me to pay for it for the next 15 years. Today I have a 20 + degree temperature differential between in and out and the unit is cycling.
  • ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    I have to agree with this one. I just replaced a 4 ton heat pump with a 3 ton. Not only has my electric bill dropped, but the house is much more temperate and comfortable. 15 years ago they used much different heat load calculations and I'v made improvements in windows and insulation, that said the company wanted to put a 4 ton unit back in and be safe and for me to pay for it for the next 15 years. Today I have a 20 + degree temperature differential between in and out and the unit is cycling.
    The thinking used to be that there was no such thing as an A/C that was too big, so home builders would typically oversize A/C units "to be safe". As it turns out, though, an A/C that is too big for a house will start and stop more times in a day (more surge current) and not mix the air adequately for comfort. Go figure.
  • drees
    drees Solar Expert Posts: 482 ✭✭✭