New Configuration

solaris3000
solaris3000 Registered Users Posts: 24 ✭✭
Hello. all I am setting up my new system and have a few questions.
At any rate I'm a rookie and am only able to start out with a small albeit scalable system to start with..

My battery bank is wired in Parallel.. 900ah 12v

I only have 1 panel rated at 125watts and its 6 feet from the Battery bank.
my Inverter is Xantrex Prowatt SW1000
Charge controller,, None.(waiting for the Rogue) :-(

I only have the single solar panel. Should I reduce the size of my battery bank to keep the AGM 12v batteries in healthy charge state.

My calculations tell me that with a 900ah bank my single panel will require 15 days to bring the bank cells to full charge if the battery bank is discharged to 90%

If I purchase the MPPT controller, will this give me a smaller recharge window than 15 days?

Thanks for your time.
Brian

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: New Configuration

Welcome to the forum Brian.

For an AGM battery (and any lead acid battery)--Spending lots of time below ~75% state of charge will sulfate the battery and cause it to loose capacity (and eventually not store enough energy for your needs). Spending even a few days below 75% state of charge is not a good thing.

For a "nice" balanced offgrid system--We like to start with a 5% to 13% of rated battery bank capacity with a 0.77 derating of the solar panels+charge controller... For your bank:
    • 900 AH * 14.5 volts charging * 1/0.77 derating * 0.05 charge = 847 watts minimum
    • 900 AH * 14.5 volts charging * 1/0.77 derating * 0.13 charge =2,203 watts cost effective maximum
    Note: You have a very large battery bank and, ideally, you want a pretty large solar array to "keep it happy".