Newbie needs help with backup solar power system design

Options
tombronx
tombronx Registered Users Posts: 6
Hello experts,

I am completely new to solar energy, and I'd admit I know nothing about electricity besides the formula Volt = Watt x Amp.

I'd like to design a small solar system to run 2 webcams 24/7, 1-2 CFLs, and to charge my laptop and smart phone. I'd like the system to be also able to handle an extra load of a TV for a couple of hours in case the main power goes out (been happening a lot lately in the South).

I am attaching my guestimate for the power consumption and what I have in mind to purchase for the solar system. I think need a larger inverter to handle the Wh, but I am not sure. I'd appreciate any critique and suggestion.

TIA,
Tom

Disclaimer: I don't work for any of the vendors/sellers mentioned in the images ... the names are there just to help my sanity.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newbie needs help with backup solar power system design

First, the formula is Volts X Amps = Watts

Next, get yourself a kill-a-watt meter, and actually measure your estimated loads, their duration and then the total load.

All calculations START from properly estimated loads.

Avoid the biggest trap of RE, that is Ready, Fire, Aim!. Don't buy ANYTHING until you have a good idea of what it is you want to do, and how you can do it.

The two basic rules of PV is that most people underestimate their loads, while at the same time over estimate the amount of solar harvest they can get. Go to PVwatts.org and do a calculation as to how much a generic system can produce in your general location.

Read and understand all that you can about the process. This forum is a great resource for some very good, honest real world answers. There are some very smart folks here, who have forgotten more about RE than most of us will ever know. There is no such thing as a stupid question.