Is this connected correctly?
What do you think?

2hzgthx.jpg

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: My Solar Project

Fuses between the battery and the inverter/charger. Fuses between the Wind genny and the combiner box, fuses between the PV and the combiner box. I am no expert but can you run the wind charger and the Pv into the same combiner box and controller?

Why the 300 Amp fuse? How big a wind/Pv system are you going to build?
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

Solar panels and wind turbines need separate controllers. The wind controller must have a dump load. Controllers connect to batteries, not inverter.

"300 Amp fuse" between disconnect and charge controller is misplaced. That sounds like a size for the inverter. Charge controllers will have fuses or breakers on their output to batteries. Since charge controllers are under 100 Amps it isn't likely to be that big. If there's more than 2 panels in parallel, then each needs to have its own fuse.
  • DavidOH
    DavidOH Solar Expert Posts: 112 ✭✭✭
    Options

The combiner box will contain breakers for each input.
    1 per solar panel circuit, and another for the wind charger.
    The wind charger I do understand won't go to the controller.

The 300 amp fuse was a "master fuse" or "system disaster"
    You are correct this it a Trace "T" fuse and should go between the inverter and the battery.

I'll redraw and add a few more details. Thanks for you quick input! :D
  • DavidOH
    Options

after a redraw it looks more like this:

2zroxol.jpg

Now I'll have to get a shut off for the wind charger.
    The battery will have a disconnect. :roll:
  • Cariboocoot
    Options

You're getting closer. :D

But again I must point out the charge controllers for the wind and PV's go to the battery, not the inverter. You don't want the charging current going to the inverter and then through its cables to the batteries.