beginner ?

I have no experience with solar, but have a panel which was apparently used shipping cars. (VW) Max power 3.2 w, voltage at max power 18.8, current at max power 170 mA.
I have been using it in my fish house, (on the ice) and unplugging it when I leave. Question is, can I leave it plugged in all the time without diodes or controllers (I have only read on this subject), or should I order something?
It would save running the generator to get a complete charge after using lights and fan if I can get the system right.
Appreciate any help; Thanks, Bob

Comments

• XRinger
    XRinger Solar Expert Posts: 529 ✭✭✭
    Re: beginner ?
    mnbob wrote: »
    I have no experience with solar, but have a panel which was apparently used shipping cars. (VW) Max power 3.2 w, voltage at max power 18.8, current at max power 170 mA.
    I have been using it in my fish house, (on the ice) and unplugging it when I leave. Question is, can I leave it plugged in all the time without diodes or controllers (I have only read on this subject), or should I order something?
    It would save running the generator to get a complete charge after using lights and fan if I can get the system right.
    Appreciate any help; Thanks, Bob

You should get a small charge controller. It would keep your battery at peak charge
    and not over-charge it.

I'm using 3 of these.. With three 5~10W panels.
    http://www.ramsond.com/proddetail.php?prod=SUNSHIELD&cat=SOLAR%20PANEL
    At $20 shipped, they are a pretty good deal (IMHO).. 8)

Test day.. All three units were good out of the box.
    testingSBC.jpg

I'm using one to power the tracker motor on my 500w tracker array and the
    Copyofchargerup.jpg
    other two are in the basement. One for the bedroom reading lamp and
    the other for my radios in the ham shack.z010.jpg
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭