Need basic PV information

First time posting here. I am a real estate project manager for a large company. Someone several pay grades higher than me has decided that we are going to install solar panels on the roof of one of our buildings, and it has become my project. There's no point in discussing the cost vs payback issue, the die is cast.

The building is 5 floors with a flat roof. Location is c entral Virginia, and the building is sited such that the roof does not fall in the shadow of the adjacent buildings. Gross roof area is about 25,000 sf. The same person who approved the project has engaged a consultant who supposedly has experience in this area, but reading his proposal I think he is more of an agent for selling excess electricity and brokering deals. I don't know squat about solar power, but I have found some glaring errors in his proposal. I have not met with him yet.

So I would like to know what kind of questions to ask, what pitfalls to look for, and what kind of rules of thumb I can use to estimate how much power we can get out of the system. Is there a PV primer on-line somewhere?

One of the pages in his proposal was an aerial view of the building with some kind of color coding like a thermal image. It is supposed to show average annual insolation per sq meter. Is there a way to convert that to kW output of the solar array?

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Need basic PV information
    Bulldog wrote: »

One of the pages in his proposal was an aerial view of the building with some kind of color coding like a thermal image. It is supposed to show average annual insolation per sq meter. Is there a way to convert that to kW output of the solar array?

???? If there are no shadows on your roof, it all better be the same color, or else you have a Thermal image map, where it shows heat leaking out spots that have insulation gaps.