Basic components for detached garage system

Socratic Monologue
Socratic Monologue Solar Expert Posts: 33 ✭✭
Hi all!

I'm a newbie to the forum and to solar, and would like your advice and input. I'm planning a small system to do two things:

1. Power a small CF light (~25w) in a chicken coop for up to 5 hours/day on a timer during the winter months.
2. Run a 1/2 hp garage door opener a couple times a day.

If there were power left to power a few outlets (maybe to run a small shopvac occasionally) that would be nice, too. It would cost me under $1000 to run power from the house (need to run a line under a road), so I'm trying to keep the budget for solar near this. These are the basic major components I thought would fit my needs:

-- 125w "UL Solar" panel off EBay
-- Morningstar Sunlight 20A charger/DC light controller
-- Go Power GP-1000 1000w inverter
-- plan to buy batteries (golf cart types) locally

Questions: Is this panel any good? I've seen one post by one member here in favor of this company, but that's all I've seen. Seems that for $300 shipped, I can't go wrong if it works at all, but I don't know for sure.
Also: if I want to use more power in the garage, can the Sunlight charger handle two 125w panels? I realize that's over 20A by a little bit.
Lastly: I intend to put components (other than the panel) in the garage, which is unheated but very well insulated (better than our house, in fact). The water bottle I keep in the car only freezes when it gets below 0F outside. I know cold is hard on batteries, and the inverter specifies use only above 32F. Am I asking for trouble by having all this in an unheated location?

Would anyone here do anything differently for a small, economical system? Any advice is appreciated!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Basic components for detached garage system