The "perfect" 2500W system--Suggestions?

Options
Hi to all! I am a newbie, here, so please bear with me. I want to set up an off-grid, one room, emergency use system. At times, I may want to use this system for weeks at a time. I am in Austin, Texas, and sunlight is in great supply, here. I have a great southern-facing roof side and no trees in the way during the complete solar transit.

My room will have a portable AC/Heater, mini-fridge, notebook computer, portable TV which I'll run AC (can do DC, but don't want to, at this time), a lamp and fan. That's it. I have calculated that 2500W will do it for me. I have a 5000W generator that I will want to tie into the system if the batteries are low and the sun is not out.

So, what is the best way to go, starting from solar panels and taking me to two dedicated outlets in the wall, terminating my system? Wire runs should not be longer than 60' from roof panels to batteries, 15' from inverter to my inside outlets (with a breaker box in between). Be as specific as you want to be. Including wire gauges would be helpful. I think I will house the batteries, controller and inverter in a modular plastic shed which will be bolted to a slab.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: The "perfect" 2500W system--Suggestions?

Hello and welcome to the forum!

I think you need to start by re-defining the terms. 2500 Watts. Is that a maximum load of 2500 Watts at one time, or is it 2500 Watt hours per day? There's a big difference.

Also, a portable AC/heater & a refrigerator each have big start-up surges. These are difficult to measure, but will shut-down a too-small inverter instantly. They would also both "prefer" pure sine wave rather than the much cheaper modified square wave inverters.