Off Topic, but perhaps relevant to alternative energy

Options
bmet
bmet Solar Expert Posts: 630 ✭✭
I am a self-employed contractor, and occasionally work the convention center of the city where I live. Two days ago I was in a room where oil industry professionals were meeting, and a representative from British Petroleum addressed a group of petroleum geologists.

I heard the following.

Due to closing of obsolete refineries which have not been replaced at the rate they are being phased out, PLUS the closing of 104 nuclear plants which will not be replaced, AND current administration policy, the oil industry is looking at a production shortage that is likely to drive prices up to over $135 a barrel by mid 2012. This translates to $4.50-$5 a gallon by election time.

This was not not public forum. It is BP talking to industry geologists. The whole conference was a basic revisit of shale technologies, and investment into low-grade crude that was once rejected outright because of prohibitive infrastructure.

I think we can take BP's prediction as an earnest statement.

Go Solar

Comments

• techntrek
    techntrek Solar Expert Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Off Topic, but perhaps relevant to alternative energy

According to the link below, there are only 104 plants in the US. Below are some some quotes which show that many of them will be online for decades more.

"As of the end of 2009 the NRC had extended the licences of 59 reactors, over half of the US total. The NRC is considering licence renewal applications for further units, with more applications expected by 2013. In all, about 90 reactors are likely to have 60-year lifetimes, with owners undertaking major capital works to upgrade them at around 30-40 years."

"By mid-2009, COL (construction and operating license) applications for 26 new units at 17 sites had been submitted to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission."

http://www.world-nuclear.org/info/inf41.html