Best system voltage to use

dogman
dogman Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hello, I am new to solar and have build my own system. I started with 12 volt RV type equipment and have since moved up to a full house type system.

I have a morningstar TS-MPPT-60 controler hooked up with 8 220 watt 30 volt each panels, they are connected in 4 strings of 2 each for 60 volts. This charges a 12 volt battery bank of 2760 amps. My inverter is an RV type sunforce 2500 watt, that is only 12 volt.

The TS-MPPT-60 is limiting my charging to 60 amps during the peak of the day and I am wasting the extra generation of my panels. I see that the extra panels cause the watts genertated to come up faster in the mornning when there is not as much sun and stay higher in the evening.

I don't think that the over current limit regulation is hurting anything, but I would like some one to comfirm that my thougts are correct or not ?

I am at the point of wanting to replace my inverter with a much better one.
At this point I am thinking of changing the system to 48 volts and getting a 48 volt inverter, however I have 12 volt radios and equipment that I want to be able to run direct from DC.

So here is the main question, Is there any advantage to going 48 volts over say 12 volts other than the controler will be able to make use of all of my panels and smaller wire size will be smaller ?

I could also just add another control to make use of the panels but I some how think going 48 volts might be a better idea. If I just add another control then I would be at the sampe point laster if I added more pannels.

The next questions is what inverter would be recomended ?
I would like following:
1) Network monitoring so that I can keep track of my power usage and status.
2) 2000 or more watts full sine wave.
3) not so important but maybe future grid tie.

I have been looing at the OutBack FX and Xantrex XW.
I might even think about replacing/adding another control to match the inverter.